HomeEventsLodging Awards Information

Stars of the Lodging Industry Awards Program

The Georgia Hotel & Lodging Association's Stars of the Lodging Industry awards program recognizes the exemplary professionalism and the exceptional service of lodging professionals and properties in Georgia. This program provides GHLA members an opportunity to honor individuals who set the standard of excellence and have helped make our industry the success that it is today. The program also provides an opportunity for properties to attain recognition for outstanding programs and initiatives.

Each year, GHLA members are invited to submit nominations in eight employee award categories and six property award categories. Members may submit these nominations at no charge. Every nominee is recognized during GHLA's annual Stars of the Lodging Industry Celebration luncheon in front of friends and peers. During this inspirational awards ceremony, the winners in each category are announced.

This annual celebration has become a crown jewel for GHLA. In 2017, 650+ lodging professionals gathered for a festive celebration to pay tribute to the nominees and to honor the winners.

The following links lead to a feature article on this particular year's Stars Celebration and a list of winners announced.

Click here to download a PDF of the Call for Nominations Packet for this year's competition. NOTE: The deadline for submissions is December 1, 2017.

Frequently Asked Questions

When is the deadline? December 1, 2017 

Who may enter? Any GHLA lodging member in good standing may enter for free.

What is the cost to enter? GHLA members in good standing may enter for free.

How many entries may I submit? You may submit ONE entry for EACH award category. In fact, we encourage you to submit an entry into each category, as this is a terrific and economical way to reward key performers and star initiatives. This awards program features eight employee award categories, six property award categories, and one supplier category.

Do smaller properties compete with large properties for awards? No. Entries are judged according to “division”. That means that small, medium, and large properties only compete with properties of similar size. All of this is outlined in the Call for Nominations brochure. Therefore, this program is perfect for properties ranging from large full-service to small limited-service.

What is the best way to prepare an entry? If possible, you should assign a key staff person (or team) to coordinate the nomination process for your property. Most properties involve their HR staff and their sales/marketing team. Consider involving department heads in the process so you can obtain nominations for each award category. The Call for Nominations brochure contains a nomination form along with helpful tips on the type of information to include. Always include metrics when possible as well as comments from supervisors, associates, and guests.

What are the award categories? Complete definitions for the award categories are provided in the Call for Nominations brochure.

The individual employee award categories are:

  • Outstanding Administrative Employee of the Year
  • Support Department Employee of the Year
  • Food and Beverage Employee of the Year
  • Guest Services Employee of the Year
  • Roomkeeper of the Year
  • Stevan Porter Emerging Hospitality Leader of the Year (for employees under age 30)
  • General Manager of the Year
  • Manager of the Year

The property-wide categories are:

  • Community Service
  • Good Earthkeeping
  • Guest Relations
  • Special Event - One-Time Only
  • Special Event - Ongoing
  • Technology Innovation

Are the winners notified prior to the Celebration luncheon? No. To add to the excitement, the names of the winners are revealed during our event. All nominees are recognized during the program because we strongly believe it is an honor to be nominated. Therefore, we encourage you to bring all of your nominees with you to the celebration along with their supervisors and your executive management team. This should be a property-wide celebration for you!

If I have questions, whom may I contact? Denise Holland, d.holland@ghla.net or (404) 667-4077

Are sponsorship opportunities are available? Yes, a number of sponsorship opportunities are offered for this high-profile industry-wide celebration. If you'd like to capitalize on the exposure and support your customers' success, e-mail Denise Holland to learn more.

Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy

p. 404-771-2996 | f. 404-745-8899